Mama is Bored

“Shh! The baby is sleeping! Don’t talk… don’t move…. don’t do ANYTHING!
Oh, wait, she woke up.
So, now what do we do?
Umm … we could stare at each other again…. as usual…. until you fall asleep again…”

This was my life. For 3 months after my daughter was born, I was sooooooo bored!
Don’t get me wrong. She is amazing, beautiful, and totally worth it. But she didn’t do anything but ESP – Eat, Sleep, Poop – over and over and over ad nauseum….
Before she was born (right up until the day before) I was a preschool teacher with a very full class of 3 year olds, running me around like crazy. There was never a dull moment. Compared to that exciting chaos, caring for a newborn is a walk in the park. No, literally. That was a huge field trip, walking in the park, in the mall, or around the block. Anything to get out of the house.

Fast forward 15 months.
She’s a busy, curious toddler, walking herself all around the park! So, why am I still bored? No excuses any more! It’s time to get up, shake off the cobwebs, and put my college education to work! Time to be my daughter’s (almost) preshool teacher!

Leave a Reply

